Deutsche Version
Next talk in the Stochastics Colloquium:
13.04.2018, 14:15, Dr. Paul Joubert (IMS-Alumni) (Berlin)

"Title: t.b.a.".
Dr. Yoav Zemel, EPF Lausanne, spents SNF Early Postdoc Mobility fellowship at IMS: The IMS welcomes Dr. Yoav Zemel, who is spending with us an 18-months research visit from February 1st, 2018 to July 31st, 2019. Dr. Zemel is funded by a Swiss National Science Foundation Early Postdoc Mobility fellowship for the project Uncertainty Quantification for Optimal Transport mentored by Prof. Axel Munk (more information is available here).

BMBF INVERS - 03MUPAH6 - Health and Medical Technology:
Deconvolution with sparsity constraints in optical nanoscopy and mass spectroscopy


Project Managment:

  • Prof. Dr. Thorsten Hohage
  • Prof. Dr. Axel Munk


  • Dr. Thomas Hotz
  • Philipp Marnitz



Mass spectroscopy and light microscopy have been revolutionised over the last couple of years, changing the requirements of the accompanying data analytical methods. We hence aim at developing new approaches to analyse such data, making them available to our industry partners.


  • Deconvolution with a-priori known sparsity (T. Hohage, A. Munk, T. Hotz):
    Nowadays, light microscopy achieves resolutions which almost allow to localise individual fluorescing molecules. Thus, the common assumption used when
    applying reconstruction methods, namely that the object is (piecewise) smooth, is no longer fulfilled. Rather, the object compises few, bright and isolated points whose location and brightness are to reconstruct. This is to say they are extremely sparse, requiring penalties adapted to this situation: we are looking for reconstructions consisting of as few points as possible, while adequately explaining the data.
  • Local choice of penalties for image reconstruction in fluorescence microscopy (A. Munk, N. Bissantz, P. Marnitz):
    Reconstruction methods typically depend on some regularisation parameter allowing to balance data fit and roughness of the reconstruction. As the image structure as well as the underlying object's structure vary through the image, it is desirable to choose the regularisation parameter locally in an adaptive manner. Since statistical multiscale analysis has been proven well-suited to choose such a parameter globally for positron emission tomography (Bissantz, Mair, Munk: 2006), we envision to use it also for the problem of choosing the parameter locally.

Further information:

english version
News
Nächster Vortrag im Stochastischen Kolloquium:
25.10.2017, 11:15, Dr. Vlada Limic (Université Paris Sud 11)

"Title: t.b.a.".
Statistics Meets Friends: The workshop "Statistics Meets Friends - from biophysics to inverse problems and back -" takes place in Göttingen from November 29th to December 1st, 2017.
BMBF INVERS

BMBF INVERS - 03MUPAH6 - Gesundheit und Medizin-Technik:
Entfaltunsprobleme mit Sparsity Constraints in der optischen Nanoskopie und Massenspektrometrie

Partner:

Projekt-Managment:

  • Prof. Dr. Thorsten Hohage
  • Prof. Dr. Axel Munk

Mitarbeiter:

  • Dr. Thomas Hotz
  • Philipp Marnitz


Beschreibung:

 

In den vergangenen Jahren hat sowohl in der Massenspektrometrie als auch in der Lichtmikroskopie eine Revolution der Methoden stattgefunden, was die Ansprüche an die entsprechenden Verfahren zur Datenauswertung deutlich verändert hat. Daher haben wir es uns zum Ziel gesetzt, neue Ansätze für die Auswertung dieser Daten zu entwickeln und unseren Industriepartnern zur Verfügung zu stellen.

Teilprojekte:

  • Entfaltungsgleichungen bei a-priori bekannter Sparsity (T. Hohage, A. Munk, T. Hotz):
    Die heute in der Lichtmikroskopie erreichbaren Auflösungen ermöglichen schon fast die Lokalisierung einzelner fluoreszierender Moleküle. Die bei Rekonstruktionsverfahren üblichen Annahmen (stückweise) glatter Objekte sind dann nicht mehr angemessen, vielmehr besteht das Objekt aus wenigen hellen, isolierten Punkten deren Lage und Helligkeit es zu rekonstruieren gilt. Sie sind also extrem sparse und erfordern entsprechend angepasste Strafterme: Man sucht nach Rekonstruktionen, die aus möglichst wenigen Punkten bestehen und die Daten adäquat erklären.
  • Lokale Wahl von Straftermen in der Fluoreszenzmikroskopie (A. Munk, N. Bissantz, P. Marnitz):
    Die zur Rekonstruktion verwendeten Verfahren hängen typischerweise von einem Regularisierungsparameter ab, der ein Abwägen ermöglicht zwischen der Nähe der Rekonstruktion zu den beobachteten Daten einerseits und der Rauigkeit der Rekonstruktion andererseits. Da die Bildstruktur wie die zugrunde liegende Objektstruktur innerhalb eines Bildes stark variieren kann, soll der Regularisierungsparameter entsprechend lokal angepasst werden. Nachdem statistische Multiskalenanalyse erfolgreich zur globalen Parameterwahl bei der Positronen-Emissionstomografie eingesetzt wurde (Bissantz, Mair, Munk: 2006), sollen diese nun auch zur lokalen Parameterwahl verwendet werden.


Weitere Informationen: http://www.stochastik.math.uni-goettingen.de/invers/index.php