english version
Nächster Vortrag im Stochastischen Kolloquium:
26.04.2017, 11:15, Prof. Boaz Nadler (Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel)

"Unsupervised Ensemble Learning, making good decisions when knowing (almost) nothing" (Abstract).
Research prize funds guest researcher at IMS: Dr. Vlada Limic, Directeur de recherche at CNRS Universite Paris Sud, has received the Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel research prize of the Alexander von Humboldt foundation honoring her outstanding contributions in the area of probability theory with applications in the life and physical sciences. The prize will fund an extended research stay of Dr. Limic at the Institute for Mathematical Stochastics in Göttingen from the summer of 2017 to 2018 (more information).

Felix-Bernstein-Chair for Mathematical Statistics

members of the research group:

Prof. Dr. Axel Munk (publications)
PD Dr. Timo AspelmeierSFB 937(publications)
Dr. Carsten Gottschlich(publications)
Dr. Michael HabeckHA 5918/1-1 (publications)
Dr. Katharina ProkschSFB 755(publications)
Dr. Ivo SiekmannFBMS (publications)
Dr. Frank Werner* (publications)

Our group develops statistical and computational methods for extracting relevant information from complex data. Our interest ranges from fundamental mathematical-statistical research to the development of methods and software for the analysis of experimental data in the lab sciences, in particular from biochemistry, structural biology, molecular genetics, and optics.

Further information:

Max Planck Fellow Group "Statistical Inverse Problems in Biophysics" at Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry

Felix-Bernstein-Institute for Mathematical Statistics in the Biosciences

Team Assistent:

Heiner Keilholz



System Administration:

Christian Böhm



PhD students:

Stefan AnellGRK 2088
Merle Behr(publications)
Miguel Del Alamo GRK 2088
Manuel DiehnSFB 803
Qinghai Guo


Anne HeinSFB 755
Claudia KönigSFB 755 (publications)
Gytis Kulaitis


Florian PeinSFB 803(publications)
Jan RosenbaumSFB 937
Max SommerfeldGRK 2088 (publications)
Carla TamelingGRK 2088


B.Sc.-/M.Sc.-/research students:

Florian Heinemann
Marcel Klatt
Stanislav Syekirin
• Laura Vanegas
Christoph Alexander Weitkamp

former members:

Ph.D. Fadoua Balabdaoui (Université Paris Dauphine)
Dr. Nicolai Bissantz (Ruhr-Universität Bochum)
• Dr. Leif Boysen
Matthias Eulert (Philipps-Universität Marburg)
Marc Gössling (University of Chicago)
Prof. Dr. Markus Haltmeier (Universität Innsbruck)
PD. Dr. Stephan Huckemann (publications)
• Dr. Jörn Dannemann (publications)
• Dr. Gudrun Freitag
Dr. Klaus Frick(publications)
Dr. Sophie Frick
Dr. Frederike Greb
• Andreas Habig
Rebecca von der Heide
Prof. Dr. Hajo Holzmann (Philipps-Universität Marburg)
Jun.-Prof. Dr. Thomas Hotz (TU Ilmenau)(publications)
Prof. Dr. Zakhar Kabluchko (University of Muenster, Germany)
Dr. Karola Kombrink
Dr. Mihail Langovoy (MPI for Intelligent Systems, Tübingen)
Dr. Housen Li*(publications)
Dr. Philipp Marnitz(publications)
• Dr. Matthias Mielke (publications)
• Dr. Krzysztof Mieloch(publications)
• Christof Naumzik
Evgeniya Pavlova
Dr. Mihaela Pricop (Leibniz Institute for Farm Animal Biology)
• Dr. Till Sabel(publications)
Dr. Johannes Schmidt-Hieber (ENSAE, Paris)(publications)
• Tobias Schürmann
• Dr. Nora Serdyukova(publications)
• Dr. Hannes Sieling(publications)
• Dr. Guido Skipka
• Dr. Bernd Stratmann
Dr. Benjamin Tams (publications)
Prof. Janis Valeinis (Technical University Riga)
Prof. Sebastian Vollmer (University of Goettingen)
Prof. Dr. Rafael Weißbach (University of Rostock)
Dr. Duy Hoang ThaiGK 1023


Dr. Inder Tecuapetla SFB 803 (publications)
Alexander HartmannSFB 755 (publications)